DEV Community

Software Engineering Unlocked

Running a successful dev shop with Martin Gratzer

Subscribe on iTunes, Spotify, Google, Deezer, or via RSS.

Links:

Show notes:

Martin and I studied at the same University. And already back then, his main goal was to start his own company. So, with sweet ~25, or something like that he started Topmind - which, BTW, I have been part of at the beginning.

Since then, many years have passed, and Martin took what was once a one-man-show (after I left), and developed it into a dev shop with 5 full-time engineers and several freelancers.

Martin explains to me, how over the course of ~15 years, he built a successful company by following his curiosity, passion, and by following a strict niche-down strategy.

It was really great to connect again with Martin, and he shared tons of helpful advice for others that also want to build their own company. And all of that in a region that's far from being Silicon Valley!   

I hope you enjoy this interview as much as I did.

Best,

McKayla

Episode source