DEV Community

Soham Thaker
Soham Thaker

Posted on

Diving into Open-Source Development

Hi all! Myself Soham! Currently in my 4th year studying B.Tech - Software @ Seneca College, located in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Recently finished an internship @ RBC Capital Markets and heading back to them for another one during the Winter 2024 coop term. I'm also an RBC Student Ambassador for Fall 2023 term so reach out to me on LinkedIn if you're looking for Winter / Summer 2024 coop opportunities.

This is one of many posts that I'll be putting out over the course of next few months as I document my journey in open open-source development course that I'm currently taking as part of my curriculum. One of the main reasons for me to take this course was to challenge myself to work on a large-scale project to expand my knowledge about the workflow & the procedures that the community uses from writing code to testing and to deployment + many other steps involved which I'm not aware of as of yet to push out quality software. Another reason was for me to collaborate with people, learn from them and selflessly contribute to a project so that the software community continues to thrive.

A few projects on my mind are GraphQL, 0Auth, AWS-SDK, Docker, Kubernetes, Nest, Express, SocketIO, Passport, React + a few others. My aim is to learn more about System Design / Software Architecture, as you can see above from the list of projects that I'd want to contribute to. One of the mysteries that I have for a new tool when I encounter it is, What is the application of this tool? and to me, one of the best ways to know that without using it ever before in my life is by contributing directly to their repositories.

To begin, I'm going to start with GraphQL. This repo is a JS-specific implementation for GraphQL, for which projects written in JS/TS can utilize to build an API for their web app. The reason why I chose this project is because I've always been intrigued by how GraphQl challenges the standard way of building an API, a.k.a REST APIs. I have very little knowledge about this project since I've never used it before at work or for my personal projects. I only have theoretical knowledge about it which I gained from watching YouTube videos. It also uses TypeScript which is fascinating because type safety is very important when building software considering it cleans out a lot of bugs early on before the software is shipped.

I'm gonna wrap it up there. See you guys soon with another post.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
dumebii profile image
Dumebi Okolo

Way to go!