DEV Community

Cover image for Evaluating a deeper penetration into Google's open-source project
Soham Thaker
Soham Thaker

Posted on

Evaluating a deeper penetration into Google's open-source project

Code Review

A lot of conversation regarding code review happened as you can notice from the PRs itself.

PR #1 - feature: Enable strict mode for workspace search #2032

For this PR most of the reviews were about replacing the conditional check with optional chaining for better code readability. A couple of the reviews were about praising my code changes and writing a better if conditional check.

Links to the reviews are here:

They approved both my code changes for this PR which I was skeptical about as I mentioned in the previous blog post so that was a major win for me. Besides, I was curious about their review regarding why they prefer optional chaining in certain places and not for the others so I asked them to give me more information about the same. They provided me with an insightful reason why they chose optional chaining for certain scenarios. The conversation can be found here.

PR #2 - feature: enabled TS strict mode in workspace-backapck, resolved TS errors

For this PR, I received all sorts of reviews considering this PR had quite a lot of code changes compared to PR #1.

Links to the reviews are here:

Most of the changes asked during the PR review were straightforward. They provided a review for the code change I was skeptical about as mentioned in the previous blog for this PR. They mentioned using Blockly.serialization.blocks.State type by itself for json argument but I'd already tried that before putting out the PR which I explained to them in this conversation. They eventually agreed to my reasoning and approved my code change after I presented them with my findings, so that was a major win for me.

Overall this release was a 10/10 success for me in terms of achieving my goals and the outcome that I was looking for. They provided prompt reviews for my PR and merged it quickly as well and the changes were released for their respective releases, v8.1.0 for workspace-search and v5.3.0 for workspace-backpack

I am quite happy with my progress in this course. From being skeptical and doubting whether I could take on this massive challenge of contributing to an open-source project to actually contributing towards multiple of these open-source projects, was one hell of a journey. Thank you Professor David for teaching us Seneca College students one of the most vital skills in becoming a better developer. I will forever be grateful for these invaluable skills that you provided me with, helped me navigate this course and aided me in building confidence in myself that I can surely get any task done if I'm committed to pursuing it.

Top comments (0)