DEV Community

Soham
Soham

Posted on • Updated on

Nchat : Real-Time Chat Communication

Dev: Dev Profile

What I built

I have created a real time latest chat application using github codespace as environment and ReactJs,NodeJs,Socket.io as tools.

Category Submission:

Wacky Wildcards

App Link

Nchat

Screenshots

Image description

Image description

Description

I have created a chat app using ReactJS, Node.js, Socket.io, and GitHub Codespaces. The app allows users to engage in real-time chat conversations. It provides a user-friendly interface for sending and receiving messages, as well as displaying the chat history. The app is simple and easy to deploy.

Link to Source Code

Github

Permissive License

The app is licensed under the MIT License

Background (What made you decide to build this particular app? What inspired you?)

I decided to build this chat app for the GitHub x Dev Hackathon because I wanted to create a real-time communication tool that could be used for various purposes, such as friendly collaboration, or community engagement. I was inspired by the increasing demand for remote communication tools such as whatsapp,slack and wanted to contribute to the development of such applications.

How I built it (How did you utilize GitHub Actions or GitHub Codespaces? Did you learn something new along the way? Pick up a new skill?)

Github Codespace used really good for less storage capacity in device so I utilized GitHub Codespaces, which is an online development environment provided by GitHub. It allowed me to have a consistent development environment across different machines and made it easy to collaborate with others. I used ReactJS for the frontend, Node.js for the backend, and Socket.io for real-time communication between the server and clients.

Throughout the development process, I learned more about setting up a real-time communication system using Socket.io and how to handle concurrent connections. I also gained experience in deploying applications using GitHub Codespaces and leveraging GitHub Actions for continuous integration and deployment.
Building chat application throughout the hackathon provided me a great learning experience and allowed me to create a functional and scalable application for real-time communication.

Additional Resources/Info

Youtube Video


Backend Server: Backend

Top comments (0)