DEV Community

SullySavesTheInternet
SullySavesTheInternet

Posted on

Website Audit 101

Building a website is tough. There's so many factors to take into consideration to ensure it is easy to use, accessible, and findable through web searches. In this brief, I'm going to highlight a couple tools that I used to analyze https://www.pgnleaders.org/ , the national website for my Professional Development Organization, and what I found that can be improved.

H2 Web.dev

Web.dev is a fabulous tool to use to audit your websites. All you have to do is copy the website url of your choosing, and paste it into the audit box, and run it! I got some great insights about the PGN website on things like performance, accessibility, best practices, and SEO. Out of all these categories, the PGN website could see most improvement in the Best Practices and SEO categoried. Web.dev tells you concrete ways to fix these aspects of your website and improve the rating.
https://web.dev/measure/

H2 WAVE

WAVE is a chrome extension, that can be accessed directly from the website of your choosing. Instead of a report format like Web.dev, WAVE gives a visual overview of the accessibility of your website. My biggest takeaway after using this tool was all of the alternative text errors that the PGN website has. This essentially means that the HTML can be significantly simplified, so increase website efficiency.

H1 For an in depth look at me using these tools, check out my youtube video https://youtu.be/1mJMq7p8L_4

Top comments (0)