DEV Community

Cover image for First Post: FlatIron Phase -1
sunnyhagey
sunnyhagey

Posted on

First Post: FlatIron Phase -1

Hello, everyone! Welcome to my first post.

If any of you have attended FlatIron it wouldn't surprise you at all to learn that I am rushing to write this before I have to present my Phase-1 project. I also haven't eaten today because I've been too distracted with my face in the computer, fiddling with my code.

My instructor kindly made me set up an alarm to remind me to eat at the scheduled lunch time after the third day I didn't eat because I was so invested in my code. However, I can also just turn off the alarm and keep working. Much too easy.

I'm not sure how much tech talk I'm prepared to do yet, considering I feel like I've barely dipped my toe into the tech world. But, I can say that this experience has been equal parts frustrating and rewarding.

I'm sure you all know what I mean.

const frustrating = yelling at the stupid machine until it does what I say

const rewarding = the code works and there aren't errors and everything happened the way I wanted

This course is definitely teaching me something I needed to learn dearly: Failure does not mean I'm a failure. Errors are just proof I'm moving forward, that I'm doing something.

Now, I can't say I always feel like that, but it's getting easier to remember as the weeks of coding go by.

This first Phase has been a doozy. I feel as if I have simultaneously been in this course for all of my life and for less than two days. I am learning more than I ever have and faster than I thought I could.

As much as I have enjoyed it, I do feel like the first phase is a bit much, especially for beginners who have never even looked at code. The pre-work for the course, I feel, should have been addressed and gone over a bit more before we hopped into DOM manipulation and CRUD.

I am looking forward to moving out of vanilla coding and onto something more productive. I understand the need for us to learn this and I actually enjoyed it, but I do think something more succinct will suit the things I am wanting to create.

Before I go and actually eat something, I'll mention my project.

It's quite simple. Just a SPA with data from a .json that I made with movie data. These particular movies are "trash" or movies we love to hate. Low ratings around the board, but man are they fun to watch. You can scroll horizontally through the movie images at the top and click to display their information. You can click to agree whether the movie is "Certified Trash" and the counter will keep score of all who have voted.

I also included a submission form where you can submit your own movies trash. It will show up in the scrolling bar of images at the top and be clicked to display its information as well. The page does not reload when a submission is made and the form resets itself after every submission (I am proud of the reset, okay? I know it's simple.)

And that's my first blog post on this journey that I'm nervous but ultimately excited for.

Thanks for reading.

-Sunny

Top comments (0)