DEV Community

Cover image for Just so much... stuff
syntaxrob
syntaxrob

Posted on

Just so much... stuff

How many apps do you have on your phone right now?

On average, most people have between 60 and 90 apps installed on their phone at any one time. Me? I have 206...

Two hundred. And six. 😲

The next question would be, do I use all of them? I checked my App Usage Stats app and it turns out, that over a 7 day period, I used the following:

  1. Whatsapp 48%
  2. Instagram 9%
  3. Rightmove 8% (I am currently trying to buy a house)
  4. Chrome browser 7%
  5. Prime video 5%
  6. YouTube 4%
  7. Podcasts app 4%
  8. Strava 3%
  9. The phone 3%
  10. Ebay 3%
  11. Monzo 3%
  12. Twitter 3%

Which lead to some interesting insights. First of all, I'm apparently a lot chattier with people than I thought, secondly I watch a lot less online video than I would have predicted but most importantly, there are 175 apps (206 minus the listed 12, minus 10% for apps which cant be removed) not on the above list and therefore not being used. They are just sat there potentially taking up precious battery bars and nibbling away at my data plan in the background. Not to mention taking valuable space I could be using for pictures of my cat.

Marti cat
Now, please excuse me while I go away and uninstall 175 apps.

Top comments (0)