DEV Community

Sarthak Sharma for XenoX

Posted on

Star Wars vs Star Trek ๐Ÿคบโ˜„๏ธ๐Ÿš€๐Ÿ‘พ

If you get chance to live in either of the world, which one will you choose and why? ๐Ÿค”๐Ÿ˜…

Star Wars

or

Star Trek

Top comments (20)

Collapse
 
rentecjeremy profile image
Jeremy Smith

I love Star Wars... but as far as living in a universe, I'd much rather live in the Star Trek universe. Star Trek is more about exploration, science, and discovery. Star Trek has food replicators and holodecks - which would improve one's quality of life drastically.

Nothings keeping you from programming the holodeck to give you a Star Wars-esque experience without actually having to live in the Star Wars universe.

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

Couldnโ€™t agree more ๐Ÿ˜…

Collapse
 
utkarsh profile image
Utkarsh Talwar

Even though I picked Star Wars, I can agree with this 100%. Star Trek is more technology driven, which I admire. It would be a really cool universe to live in and explore.

Collapse
 
vizanquini profile image
vizanquini

So choose between living in a science driven society that respects the rights of โ€œuninitiatedโ€ societies and lets them develop organically
vs
Living in a world where the only hope against government tyranny is a bunch of religious zealots?
I think I have my pick.

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

Collapse
 
egilhuber profile image
erica (she/her) • Edited

Star Trek for sure! I think I'd find myself much more at home debugging on the Enterprise.

Collapse
 
fultonbrowne profile image
Fulton Browne

Which enterprise?

Collapse
 
egilhuber profile image
erica (she/her)

Original series, of course!

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

Hahaha, true ๐Ÿ˜…

Collapse
 
abesamma profile image
A.B. Samma

Star Trek, because:

  1. Bright and optimistic future
  2. No more rat races
  3. Being a digital nomad in space would be out of this world (literally)
  4. Can focus on self-enrichment and not simply survival
Collapse
 
utkarsh profile image
Utkarsh Talwar

I'd prefer the Star Wars universe. Mostly because I'm much more familiar with the Star Wars universe. I've watched so much Star Wars lore videos that it's impossible to choose Star Trek! It would be so cool to learn the ways of the Force and master it.

Cool bit of trivia: did you know there are actual lightsaber fighting styles that Force users learn and use in combat? They're so gosh darn cool! And some users even master multiple styles. Obi-Wan was acknowledged as "the master of Soresu" (the defensive form) by Mace Windu. He could face an army wielding blasters just with his lighsaber alone. How incredibly badass.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I am more in to Star Wars myself, but I think the Star Trek universe is more interestingโ€” It just takes a little more to get into it. So I think there's better character development, more interesting takes on technology, more memorable aliens, etc.

Collapse
 
bradtaniguchi profile image
Brad

Star Wars for me. I think its because I'm more of an "action movie guy". Also John Williams is a legend.

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

Indeed he is.

Collapse
 
gorlok profile image
gorlok ๐Ÿง‰

Star Trek. No doubt. There is a lot of scifi in ST.
I like Star Wars too, but it's fantasy. I prefer the science and technology behind Star Trek.

Collapse
 
athomsfere profile image
Austin French

I never really understood the SW vs Star Trek wars.

Star Trek is one of my all time favorite things. Especially TNG.

Star Wars is a B rate scifi series with a huge budget. I mean on a list of the top 100 SciFi franchises, it isn't in the top 100. And how could it be when it faces Farscape, Star Trek, Arrival, Firefly, Carbon Fiber, The Fly, Minority Report...

Now, SW is great for what it is, Pop-Fantasy set in a distant part of the universe... But the two franchises aren't on the same spectrum.

That said: Yes, I'd choose Star Trek TNG to live in. Even with the Borg to deal with.

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

Both universes are cool however the Star Trek universe feels safer to live in. Whereas in the Star Wars universe there is always some sort of major conflict going on that is a threat to your life. ๐Ÿ˜… Although the Borg seem like a much scarier threat compared to The Empire. At least The Empire gives you a choice to join them. The Borg will just assimilate you.

Collapse
 
utkarsh profile image
Utkarsh Talwar

This thread is making me want to thoroughly explore the Star Trek universe now.

Collapse
 
lgw4 profile image
Chip Warden

Star Trek all the way. Also, this: salon.com/1999/06/15/brin_main/

Collapse
 
sarafian profile image
Alex Sarafian

Dislike both as there is so much better sci-fi but I would prefer to live in star trek tng. If I did then the universe would become so much more interesting and start wars would be xstar wars what?".