DEV Community

TimWatsonNZ
TimWatsonNZ

Posted on

Unity Dev blog #2

After my first lot of coding I was left with:

Image description

I tried using the render pipeline and volumes to add bloom. I realised with my super basic sprites that creating emission textures didn't really work but the volume bloom worked nicely.

I struggled a bit with the controls of the player, balancing acceleration and breaking, working out which way the player was pointing etc.

I then added some basic particle system for the stars. All very simple but satisfying nonetheless.

Today I started off restricting movement to the screen, wrapping around objects if they exited.

That done I started on player shooting. I haven't quite figured out an elegant way to arrange everything. A class holding information on a weapon itself, info on an individual projectile and the actual game object itself and how these interact with the player. Thats the current task. I've got some basic shooting but it needs tidy up.

After thats done I'll look into enemies, spawning them, them damaging the player and getting damaged themselves and their behaviour.

This project is so far much smoother than previous ones where I really didn't know how to structure things.

Top comments (0)