DEV Community

Tommy Son
Tommy Son

Posted on

Galactic Breach

This is a submission for the Web Game Challenge, Build a Game: Alien Edition

What I Built

Galactic Breach requires you to help the human civilization by infiltrating the enemy aliens' central control system (sorry, I know it's very corny) with only your fingers and a keyboard.

It's inspired by the game Twister, but instead of using your hands and feet, you use your fingers and a keyboard!

Unfortunately, you'll need a keyboard with a high level of N-Key Rollover (NKRO) because the game requires you to hold multiple keys at once - a keyboard from a company that produces professional gaming peripherals or a custom mechanical keyboard is usually good enough.

Demo

You can play Galactic Breach here!

Journey

I built the game using React w/ Next.js. I could've gone with Vite.js, but if I plan to add more pages, multiplayer support, and authentication, I thought having the project built with Next.js would make everything easier in the future.

It's a simple game, but implementing the various ways to lose definitely took effort. In this case, the events I had to keep track of were keydown and keyup.

A big source of inspiration for this game is my co-worker, Jason, who gave me a black LUMINKEY80 keyboard with GMK Wasabi keycaps as a gift. The keyboard happens to be green and black (which is alien themed in my eyes), so I applied the same colours in my game.

Top comments (0)