DEV Community

Cover image for Changing the world with Blockchain
Christian Johansen
Christian Johansen

Posted on • Updated on

Changing the world with Blockchain

I recently came across an article by a retired executive titled 'Introduction to NFTs - How they are Going to Change the World...' and I said cool, I've gotta read this.

I'm a new full stack developer with a passion towards blockchain technologies. I had known about cryptocurrency since the early days of Bitcoin, but no I'm not some genius who bought in for 20 dollars to now be a millionaire. While the joy of waking up one day to your alt coin being up 2,000% sounds great I find the real excitement to be in the technology behind these currencies.

This brings me back to that 'article' (if I could use air quotes I would). Like I said, I was excited to see what this high level executive had to say about NFTs and their potential to change the world, you know, because I believe this technology can be used to change the world. Instead I read three paragraphs that NFTs are ways to display various forms of art and that Beeple (love his work) sold an NFT for 69 million dollars... WHAT?!?! How is that going to change the world? Welcome to the world of art, people will pay tons of money for the ownership of famous art. Yes, with these tokens being controlled by smart contracts an artist will be able to receive royalties of any subsequent sale, which I fully support, but we're not changing the world here.

Sorry for the rant but all that to say I was annoyed and while I'm clearly not the strongest writer I decided to start this blog, welcome, to highlight blockchain projects and use cases where this technology can be, and is being, used to change the world.

I'll be exploring blockchain projects and companies such as Cardano, Reserve, Civic, Dapper Labs, Decentraland as well as use cases that range from medical record access, to ending blood diamonds, to people able to make a living in the 'metaverse'.

Each week I will post a new article about some blockchain idea that can actually change the world. So follow along while we learn the bigger picture of blockchain technology and send along any projects you may be working on or have heard about so I can share them here!

--Christian

Twitter

Top comments (0)