DEV Community

Anya Brun
Anya Brun

Posted on

Quick life update

I’ve been trying to structure my DSA study, and this video by Maya Bello where she ranks the resources she used to study for technical interviews was immensely helpful.

I’m going to use the Technical Interview Study Guide by Eric Duran to track my progress, and I’ll tackle one DSA each week. The schedule I’ve worked out is as follows:

  • Monday - watch lectures / videos (MIT Open Courseware, HackerRank, etc) + read relevant chapter of Crack the Coding Interview
  • Tuesday - do 2-3 problems on Leetcode
  • Wednesday - use practice questions from Crack the Coding Interview chapter to practice whiteboarding
  • Thursday - practice answering JS and React-specific interview questions
  • Friday - do more Leetcode problems
  • Saturday - practice writing DSAs from scratch

I still have to work on my portfolio projects, so I’ll focus on DSAs in the morning and do project work in the afternoon.

My first mini-project is to create my personal website with React and host it on a cloud service, like AWS Amplify. I had actually planned on completing that this past weekend, but there was an unforeseen setback. My MacBook sustained liquid damage and is being repaired right now, so I probably won’t have access to it until Wednesday… 😭

Even without my laptop, I can still watch videos on Youtube, read CCI, and do practice questions. The first topic on Duran’s study guide is Big O and that’s scary and intimidating, so I’ll start with the topic right after — strings, lmho.

As far as my job search goes, I’ve been applying to software engineering internship programs (specifically ones that don’t require CS degrees), so hopefully I’ll hear something soon.

Top comments (0)