DEV Community

Cover image for Making Peanuts in Tech
TuWang
TuWang

Posted on • Originally published at tuwang.Medium

Making Peanuts in Tech

In 2014, I started my first job, which made me $58K in Boston. Even back then, this was a below-average income in the tech industry. Oh wait, I stumbled into the non-tech industry, sad.

It took me nearly 1 year to realize the income gap, and about 8 months to finish the career switch - being an entry-level software engineer at Amazon.

Since then, I made a few more mistakes. Now, compared with my college friends, they are now making half a million each year. Not too long ago, I was just making peanuts.

Check out this video to see why I was making peanuts even with a Computer Science degree.

YouTube Video: They Made Half Million($500k+), I Made Peanuts
Image description

Top comments (0)