DEV Community

Vitor Paladini
Vitor Paladini

Posted on

Have you ever felt that multiple screens do more harm than good sometimes?

Common sense says that more screens equals more productivity but I've just realized that on low focus days like today, having a spare screen actually makes me less productive.

What do you think about it?

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
supermario_ai profile image
SuperMario • Edited

dev-to-uploads.s3.amazonaws.com/i/...

I have 4 plus my laptop monitor and I'm never looking back. 😏

J5Create has an awesome 4 port HDMI adapter that is killer for the price point.

Honestly, I don't know how I've survived this long without it.

Yes, im a power user, I shortcut and throw windows around with the utmost efficieny.

YMMV.

💯❤️

Collapse
 
matthew_inamdar profile image
Matt Inamdar

Definitely agree. I used two monitors for over a year but have switched back to a single monitor and prefer it much more. Having more space made me less efficient as I had more apps open which prevented me from concentrating on a single thing.

Collapse
 
ug02fast profile image
Arthur Zhuk

Alt tab is multi screen enough. I’ve never found it pleasurable to have my neck turned at an angle to look at one screen then rapidly turning my neck to the other screen, especially doing that all day long. Learn keyboard shortcuts and your body will thank you.

Collapse
 
victorprs profile image
Victor Peres • Edited

While I've worked with one, two and three monitors, I think two is optimal for programming productivity. With one screen, I find myself alt tabbing a lot to look at some lang/lib documentation. With three screens, one was always with a random thing, like Slack or Basecamp board.

Never worked with an ultrawide monitor though, but I'm planning to.

Collapse
 
pj profile image
Paul Johnson

I've always preferred a single large monitor, right now that's a 34" ultra wide, but I'm wondering about getting one of the 49" inch ones.