DEV Community

Susan Wangari
Susan Wangari

Posted on • Updated on

Leading a Community

I look at this person and am honestly so proud of who she has become. Today marks exactly 1 year since I started leading Google Developer Student Clubs Rongo University. Back then I was too afraid to talk to people(imposter syndrome is real) because I did not feel skilled enough. I have had an amazing time getting to meet new people, hosting events, interacting with speakers and overall being part of the community.

My main win from leading this community is that I landed a role as a Developer Advocate. I am currently leading Lux Tech Academy Campus Chapters. This opportunity actually was as a result of interacting with a fellow lead who is doing great things in technology. I also got featured in an international coding series.

There have been highs and lows but all in all the journey has been one to remember. From introducing new members in the club to seeing them develop the most awesome projects. The lows have been some people giving up along the way, speakers cancelling meetups and much more but I have also seen people rise to their best selves during my tenure.

My advice to the incoming leads is, there is no formula for leading so just step in there and be awesome. Be very careful when choosing your core team because these people will be your support system throughout your tenure. Do not include your friends in the core team and do not rely on their support; they will always disappoint you.

My special shout out goes to Muhammud Samu(Auwal) for his unending support and encouragement throughout my tenure. My special thanks also goes to our new GDSC lead Derrickson Ndambuki. This guy never missed an event and was always there to help. Shout out to you Harun Mwendwa for believing in me. I look forward to working with you more.

I look forward to what this community will achieve in the future. Cheers to more wins and to making the world a better place through technology and collaborations.

Top comments (0)