DEV Community

Bret
Bret

Posted on

languages in PyCharm.... Django isn’t listed?

I tried to choose Django as a language/interpreter, but it’s not listed.

How do I add it?

I’m using the community version of PyCharm

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
keyboardinterrupt profile image
KeyboardInterrupt

You can of course use the PyCharm Commmunity Edition to develop your Python Project, for that to work you will have to do the Initial Boilerplate and Django Specifics via the CLI e.G.:

django-admin startproject newproject
cd newproject
django-admin startapp newapp

Then, open the new project in PyCharm. The files and directories will be visible in the Project Explorer. and all Django Admin commands can be run from the CLI.

And for your run configuration you can use your manage.py with the runserver parameter.

But this Information might be outdated or somewhat inaccurate, my last Django Project, where I had to work with the Community Edition is a few years back :)
I highly recommend looking into the Pro Version, It also has a 30 Day Trial.

Collapse
 
yobretyo profile image
Bret

Thank you! I just got one command to work “python3 manage.py startapp AppName”

But, is there a configuration to that names it as well? Or, can I rename it once it’s made? I’m really liking the run configuration and when you do migrations.

Collapse
 
steelwolf180 profile image
Max Ong Zong Bao

Django support is only in Pro version.

Collapse
 
yobretyo profile image
Bret

Oooooo, how about activating an environment by “configuration”?

Collapse
 
steelwolf180 profile image
Max Ong Zong Bao

Configuration? What do you mean by that?