DEV Community

zach-carson
zach-carson

Posted on

WK 11 HW Blog Post

How did you start?
I mostly started by looking at the general structure of the web page and figuring out what elements I would need in order to properly replicate it. I also tried thinking about how I would split up the pieces that would end up forming the entire page.

What did you decide to attack first?
I decided to create the general front-end of the page and do a lot of the styling, in order to make it somewhat resemble the page. In other words, I was mostly focused on the html/css aspect of my element (the badge list). I also implemented the search bar properly below the description, though it doesn't actually work.

What issues have you had?
I tried making the search bar actually take in and render the text with an input event, but it doesn't seem to work right now. A lot of the general styling is also pretty difficult to replicate. I also tried implementing the search icon in the search bar, but I wasn't able to do that either.

What concepts translated from Project 1's card?
I've implemented a lot of stateful variables, by defining them in the properties/constructor and then drilling them down into the actual card. Doing most of the styling also came pretty naturally as that was a large component of project 1.

What's your next priority?
My next priority is to clean up the CSS styling of my element, as the html side is pretty much finished at this point. I also want to get the icon working in my application.

What problems are you unsure of how to solve?
I'm unsure of how to properly get the search function and the input event to work properly, so that's something I'll need to figure out.

Image description

Top comments (0)