DEV Community

Zach
Zach

Posted on

Busting my ass

This could be a post about how hard I'm working in Hack Reactor. It's not.

Yesterday, I went out on a hike during our second lunch/workout break of the week. I had two hours away from the computer, so I was like yeah, let's choose a challenging hike and get it on. I live right on the mountains so it's only like a ten minute walk to the trailhead.

I'm hauling ass up a black-diamond ski slope, just walking straight up that mother with my dog. She's hot, I'm hot, but I'm getting a ton of vertical, and moving my body like it needs before another six hours straight back in the saddle for the afternoon/evening of class-time. (The dog was fine, I was monitoring her and had plenty of h20).

Well, with about thirty or forty minutes before the next calendar activity, I'm like yeah - time to head back. But I was a little more under-the-gun than I should've been and so instead of maybe making some switch-backs on the way down I'm like I've got no time for that. So I descend like I went up, in a straight line, down a steep rocky face.

No bueno. Some scratches on my left elbow tell the story of my first fall: Shoes losing their grip on a patch of grass and sliding out in front of me, saved from a painful tailbone landing by my heroic left elbow. But really no big deal. A couple minutes later, it happens again. Again, no big deal. Finally down the slope, we reach more level ground and I pick-up the pace, making it back to my computer with a minute to spare.

Top comments (0)