DEV Community

Zach
Zach

Posted on

Incrementalism

I am decisively not a little every day guy. I'm an all-in, right now, let's go guy.

And I've suffered for it.

There are already volumes on the wisdom and virtue of 'slow and steady'. We all know it. We don't all do it.

This is a scattered thought, but it reminds me a bit somehow of the axiom don't let perfect be the enemy of good. I could translate that to:
Instead of stealing thirty minutes every day (or fewer) to work on something, I'll wait for the perfect block of time to open. And I'll wait.

That's the hare. Meanwhile, the tortoise has put in a piece here. Added something else later, then walked away. When there was a little time, the tortoise came back and put in another bit.

The blog

Yesterday, I decided to be the tortoise. So after a few days of not touching the project because I wanted to give it a few hours of attention, I gave it an hour yesterday. Maybe it was more, but it was less than I had been waiting for. And today I gave it an hour and perhaps I'll still have time tonight to give it an hour more.

Top comments (0)