DEV Community

aagullano
aagullano

Posted on

OSD600 - W1 - First Post!

Introduce yourself. Why are you taking this course? What is it about Open Source that attracted you?
Hello! My name is Angelique. New to programming and extremely new to Open Source Development.
I am taking this course to open my perspective and learn more about Open Source. I'm interested on how the community helps each other gather ideas and troubleshoot.

What are you hoping to accomplish this term? What kinds of projects do you want to work on?
I'm hoping to understand how to utilize community forums when debugging code and how I can be a part of the community.
From a brief look at possible topics, I would like to be involved with Microsoft product developments. In previous work experiences I've worked with a lot of Microsoft products, such as PowerApps and PowerBI, and so I would like to continue learning more about these technologies.

What was the the GitHub trending repo you researched above? Provide a link and tell us about it. Why did you pick it?
Link: https://github.com/microsoft/PowerToys
The Github repo I researched was Microsoft PowerToys. It is a repo used to develop programs to empower more productivity and efficiencies to users. There are several utilities being produced and a roadmap is also included, showing the focus of the team.

I chose this because the ReadMe was well done. I particularly liked the breakdown of the project, known issues, and how they thank the contributors.

Top comments (0)