DEV Community

Cover image for Migrating to dev.to
Adam K Dean
Adam K Dean

Posted on • Updated on

Migrating to dev.to

So, almost a week ago, for some reason, I took a proper look at dev.to, having seen it appearing more and more around the web. I tweeted about it as it essentially made me think of MySpace, except, for programmers. I gave it a go, and realised, not only was this easier than having to create new markdown files in GitHub for my current blog, but due to how it works, I could reach a lot more people with my content this way.

Since then, a long five days ago, I've been moving over my blog posts to my dev.to account, at least one per day but sometimes more.

Carrying everything

You might see some blog posts pop up that aren't exactly... relevant at this point in time. I've tried to combat this by putting a little notice at the top of every post showing it's original post date. The idea is that once I move everything over to here, I can replace my website without losing content which I've been carrying with me for almost a decade.

So if you've found yourself here trying to work out why I've just posted a blog post seemingly from 2011, this is why.

Update: I've now discovered that I can use front-matter to set the dates correctly. So this post may become irrelevant. Blog migration complete.

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
helenanders26 profile image
Helen Anderson

Welcome to Dev! Good luck with the migration

Collapse
 
adamkdean profile image
Adam K Dean

Thanks, it's very much a manual task, porting posts over one by one!

Collapse
 
helenanders26 profile image
Helen Anderson

Does it have an rss feed at all?

Thread Thread
 
adamkdean profile image
Adam K Dean

It doesn't. I never got round to building that. It's mostly just a collection of markdown files that I keep migrating from blog to blog, but I'm actually enjoying the process of picking up old posts and reposting them with a picture etc. Some of these things I've not read in years, like this off-topic post

Collapse
 
adamkdean profile image
Adam K Dean

I found a new method for migrating. It's still manual, but having the date set in the front matter works, so no need to link to this post and add a label to every blog post explaining it's age!