DEV Community

AlexGR
AlexGR

Posted on • Updated on

XPanel #4: Activities 1/*

Wrong English Disclaimer

Well..

Lets finish this fast xD

In this last two days I did..

  • Implement the models related with the automated activities system

I did something wrong the first day but fixed it the second, so I will show the result of the two days work xD

The first point was understand:

  • The game has multiple areas, for example mining, delivery, piracy, medical, etc.. so I temporally set a refered list in code, important think this is not xpanel activities list. I added a color list too.

Image description

  • Every "Game Area" in the game can have multiple "main activities", this is the different activities to choose in XPanel, and this main activities will be group by their game area.

The Mining Area can have Mining with ROC activity and Mining in MOLE activity
The Trading Area can have Convoy activity and Cooperative Expedition activity
This four activities will group by their areas, with the game areas colors.

** There are multiple "ActivityTemplates" for every "Main Activity", to let start the activity with different setups of players.

The Area Mining, has the Mining with ROC Activity
The Mining with ROC activity has multiple temlplates to start:

  • Minimum 3 players and group must have One ROC and one cargo ship with ROC capacity
  • Minimum 3 players and group must have One ROC-DS and one cargo ship with ROC-DS capacity

(To make this correctly work there are other aspects too)

So..

  • I implemented the models refered to the automated activities creation.

  • The models related to the automated activities queue system.

  • The model related to the data containers in different languages

  • I created new app named JIRE (Epic name) with the objetive of serve global information (Fixed in code or in DB) to all the others apps and operate with it if needed.

  • I implemented the admin forms of the info containers in different languages.

  • Learn how to include other models related fields correctly.

STOP!

There was something that will not work!

I went to contrast my ideas about the activities with other players in other discords and I was a few hours talking about possibles activities and the requiriments I will have to save in the db,... it was a real problem... I will have to include assets_list for every character??? This is expensive work for every user... and.. Have I got to include assets requiriments system for every template? This is work for me, but easy for users... I have to think more about it..

I spend a lot of time after my conversations thinking how to optimize the new requiriments in db about the requiriments for every role in templates and for the whole template..

Meanwhile all of this I tolk with one relevant streamer and he did a global poll about the most wanted roles in their viewers..

XPanel-StarCitizen-Roles-Poll

Ok, the most complicated game area to think activities for... its the most voted: Trading :) (I love this area too by the way)

I contact with two more content creators to talk about the progress of this activities system.

This post was really long and really bad wrote... CBA, I continue later, lets go dev!

Top comments (0)