DEV Community

aldrin312
aldrin312

Posted on

Hacktoberfest: First pull request

For the first week of the Hacktoberfest, I decided to start with something simple. I opted to add documentation on a source code. At first I was planning to do some functional coding but while I was trying to understand I notice that their was barely any comments. It was considerably harder for me to understand how the code works. Trying to figure out what the function do, what the outputs are or how to function works was harder.

So for my first pull request, I wanted to add comments for this source code. To make it easy for myself to understand how the code works and make it more readable for me and other contributors. Generally its not too difficult adding comments for the code, just need to thoroughly figure out what the code does, without or very view documentations. That was the hardest part of doing this task. Its a good thing I made a tool that create comments for me. Though I need to double check that the comment it made was relevant and none of the code was changed. I had to make sure that the original code was not changed. Mainly to prevent any conflicts.

The other problem I encounter was when making a pull request, their was always conflict present. Had to manually fix the conflict each time the main was updated from other pull requests. This was a bit frustrating because mine wasn't getting approved because of these conflicts even though my pull request doesn't alter the code. Eventually my PR should be approved, I just need to hope that it got reviewed first and accepted first or theirs more conflict that I need to manually fix.

What I learn from this is that documentation is really important, especially when collaborating with people, online and opensource. It makes it easier to read the code and understand how it works.

Issue: Add comments to uncommented files. #51
Pull request: Adding comments

Top comments (0)