DEV Community

Al
Al

Posted on

"How do I do a Pull Request again?" - the extremely short version

  1. Fork.
  2. Clone.
  3. git check out -b [name-of-your-feature]
  4. Edit your code.
  5. git commit -a -m [your-commit-message]
  6. git push --set-upstream origin [name-of-your-feature]

And that's it! Go get your Hacktoberfest swag.

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
bjauny profile image
Bastien JAUNY

I found myself needing the "How to keep updated with the mainstream repo" too:

  1. git checkout master
  2. git remote add upstream <original_repo>
  3. git fetch upstream
  4. git merge upstream master
  5. git push

Your forked repo is now synchronized with the upstream!

Collapse
 
rsuttles58 profile image
Rob Suttles

Embarrassed to say that I totally needed this reminder for a few minutes last night.

Collapse
 
daviddalbusco profile image
David Dal Busco

You are not alone 😉 I rely (probably too much) on the (really well made) integration of Git in Webstorm. Therefore I also often have to search what are the commands to submit a PR for a forked project.