DEV Community

Almatin Siswanto
Almatin Siswanto

Posted on

Add DS-U02P Webcam to Debian 12

So, I reinstalled my personal computer recently with Debian 12 and it runs smoothly and as expected. Then, I try to connect my DS-U02P web camera from Hikvision. I tested it using Cheese but it became unstable and I could not get it to work no matter what.

I also tried several ways to test the webcam and still facing the same issues. Then, I try to find out if there is firmware for the web camera out there. After getting the firmware downloaded. I found the wiki page for Debian 12 to install the firmware.

Based on the document, I need the /usr/local/lib/firmware folder and put my downloaded firmware file (the one with .bin extension) there.

Since I did not have the folder yet, then I needed to create it. After that, I copy the firmware file to that folder and run the below command.

$ sudo update-initramfs -c -k all

After the command is completed. I tested the web camera and it works as expected. To make sure, then I restarted my machine and did the test again. the web camera now worked as expected.

Hopefully, you found this post useful. Cheers!

Top comments (0)