DEV Community

Yash Dave
Yash Dave

Posted on • Updated on • Originally published at amorpheuz.dev

Hacktoberfest Week 2 & 3: Refactors and Bug Fixes!

Hello Everyone! During week 1, I had sent out my first PR to the DEV Repo, and I continued the mission through weeks 2 and 3. I have already become considerably familiar with workings of the Repo and thus felt it was the better choice while I had less time to spare. By the way, do check out their Repo if you haven't yet!

GitHub logo forem / forem

For empowering community 🌱

For Week 2, the issue I helped tackle was Issue #3777. An issue for fixing lint errors throughout the JavaScript files of the repo.

Lint issues with JavaScript Files #3777

Describe the bug This compliments work being done in #2470.

The *.js files inside app/javascript and app/assets/javascripts still have plenty of lint issues

To Reproduce Steps to reproduce the behavior:

From the command line in the app/javascript folder, run eslint . --ext .js From the command line in the app/assets/javascripts folder, run eslint . --ext .js

Expected behavior There shouldn't be any lint issues.

Time to do some cleanup 😆

Cleanup

It consisted of tons of files that required fixing and it was recommended to resolve one file at a time. By the time I viewed the issue, Rhymes had already listed an extremely helpful task-list for the list of remaining files and was actively helping out to mark which files had already been grabbed or were still up for grabs. I started taking grabbing one file at a time and resolving them one after another. While testing out one of the Pull Requests fully, I also ended up on an issue where Errors were being printed to the /Comments sub-page of the articles due to it trying to reference an element that is only present on the article page itself. Here's a list of all the PRs I opened for the files I fixed:

🤯🤯 So many of them! Even I don't know how I managed that. They weren't smooth sailing but I did learn a lot of lessons while tackling them!

  • Always test-out manually whatever you are refactoring. Just because it's appearing correct visually doesn't mean it is fully working. I noticed the reaction numbers loading correctly but forgot to test out the functionality for actually reacting to the article which turned out to be broken. 😅
  • Never forget to check the contents of a file it runs an eslint auto-fix due to a pre-commit hook. Turns out it might break itself. 😆
  • if(element) is a thing in JavaScript, the things about JavaScript I learn daily, hehe. 😅😅

That list also means I have fully completed the Hacktoberfest Challenge. But I feel unsatisfied! Surely I am not the only one? Turns out I ain't, I loved reading that so many others were feeling the same and had become addicted to contributing! Maybe I am one of them now. 😳 Yay! 🎉🎉

Week 3 turned out to be a Responsiveness fix. Dev.to has slowly become my pastime for the day when I am out and about, maybe chilling a bit post-lunch or riding a taxi back home (Darn you rains). Thus a lot of browsing was done on my trusty smartphone, via the PWA. While replying to one of the Hacktoberfest posts, I tried attaching a Screenshot and turns out Images were overflowing the container in the Comment Previews!? Time to open an issue. 👨‍💻

Images in comment preview are not scaled down to container width on mobile #4382

Describe the bug The image when uploaded through the mobile site/PWA isn't scaled down to fit the comment's container when in preview mode.

There is an earlier issue which #3264 which was marked as a duplicate of #3085 which was fixed by #3086 but from what I can see, that only tackles the image upload button's issue.

To Reproduce

  1. Open any article on DEV, say this
  2. Go to comments, upload a large sized image. (In my case I just added a screenshot)
  3. Click on the preview button.
  4. The image will overflow.

Expected behavior The image scales down to the preview container's size as it does when the comment is posted.

Screenshots image

Desktop (please complete the following information):

  • OS: N/A
  • Browser: N/A
  • Version: N/A

Smartphone (please complete the following information):

  • Device: Nokia 6.1
  • OS: Android 9
  • Browser: Chrome
  • Version: 77.0.3865.116

Additional context The image is correctly sized when posted as the CSS for class single-comment-node adds CSS for the image to be max-width: 100%. A similar CSS solution should be viable for the preview.

I picked it up once I was done with the Refactor fixes and opened my favorite browser to tackle such issues, the Firefox Developer Edition. Seriously, give it a try if you have never done it, I ensure you it will be love at first sight! I straight up opened two tabs, one with the comment preview and one with an article preview (which I knew worked correctly). I compared the behavior of images on both and found the img element in comment preview to be lacking the CSS max-width: 100%. Next, I tackled on how to ensure that the CSS only affects the images inside the preview-box of the comments and Aha! I had a working solution. I tested it out with varying resolutions to ensure that no funny behavior was occurring and opened my PR.

[deploy] Fix Image Overflow in Comment Preview - #4382 #4466

What type of PR is this? (check all applicable)

  • [ ] Refactor
  • [ ] Feature
  • [x] Bug Fix
  • [ ] Documentation Update

Description

  • Enforces max-width:100% on images in .comment-preview-div to prevent them from overflowing their container.

Related Tickets & Documents

Fixes #4382

Added to documentation?

  • [ ] docs.dev.to
  • [ ] readme
  • [x] no documentation needed

Screenshots of bug fix

Before: Screen Shot 2019-10-18 at 18 43 14

After: Screen Shot 2019-10-18 at 18 42 59

[optional] What gif best describes this PR or how it makes you feel?

get shrunk

Currently, I am waiting for my PR to get fully approved and resolve errors if any. My aim for the remainder of Hacktoberfest is to find a new Repo to contribute to and successfully submit a satisfying PR. How is your Hacktoberfest going till now? Feel free to hit me up in DMs for any beginner-ish level troubles you are encountering with Hacktoberfest. Have a PR filled Hacktoberfest to you all! 🎆🎊

Top comments (0)