DEV Community

Cover image for My New Year's Resolutions
Ananya Gupta
Ananya Gupta

Posted on

My New Year's Resolutions

My Adieu to 2022

The year 2022 has been incredible for me. I've witnessed significant growth in myself. From adjusting to college life and making new friends and connections to building my technical and soft skills, I have done it all. I am extremely grateful for the year 2022 and excited for what 2023 holds for me.

2023, The New Beginnings

This is the time of year when everyone is filled with Christmas spirit.
People are celebrating, spending time with their families, and preparing their lists of New Year's resolutions.

Honestly, I had never made New Year's resolutions before. I've never felt like I needed to set any New Year's resolutions. But after a year in college, my perspective has entirely shifted. I felt like I was missing out on things because I was juggling just too many duties and responsibilities. And I felt that I was inconsistent with some things too.

And thus, I decided that for the year 2023, I would set New Year's resolutions for myself to bring back the consistency. In this blog post, I’ll be sharing the New Year's resolutions I have set for myself.

1. Daily DSA

The first resolution on my list is to be consistent with practicing DSA problems. I have been inconsistent in practicing DSA, which has made me less confident in my abilities to solve DSA problems. And this year I want to work on that. I want to bring back the consistency in practicing DSA problems. So, my first New Year resolution is to solve at least one DSA problem daily.

2. Learning How to Cook

I have always been so engrossed in my books that I never had time to learn to cook. I thought I'd learn it in college. But college turned out to be more hectic than school. But this year, I have put my mind towards learning how to cook. And yes, learning how to cook is my second New Year’s resolution.

3. Technical and Content Writing

With so many things on my mind, I have somehow sidelined my passion for blogging. I have been inconsistent with blogging lately. But, thanks to the Fueler Blogging Challenge, I've regained my consistency. So, my third New Year's resolution is to maintain consistency with technical and content writing and bring my ideas and thoughts to life as blogs.

4. Learning a New Tech Stack

The year 2022 has been all about development and building projects for me. And in 2023, I want to continue it. Lately, I have been thinking about learning Computer Vision and Flutter as well as building a lot of projects. So yeah, my fourth New Year's resolution is to learn a new tech stack and build projects using it.

5. Winning a Hackathon

I have participated in several hackathons and ideathons in 2022 and even won some of them. But this year, I want to participate in a nationwide hackathon and win it. This has long been on my to-do list, and I hope to complete it by 2023. So yeah, my fifth New Year's resolution is to participate in a nationwide hackathon and win a prize there.

6. Checking Things Off My Bucket List

In the year 2022 alone, I have made a long list of things that are currently on my bucket list. I have checked off some of them. But there are few things that I wish to accomplish by 2023. I would like to check them off this year. And yes, my sixth New Year's resolution is to check things off my bucket list, like going on a family vacation.

7. Becoming a Better Version of Myself

Last but not least, I want to become a better version of myself. In 2022, I had seen a tremendous growth in myself, both in my skills and personality. And in 2023, I want to grow even more. I want to be a better version of myself than I was in 2022. Which is the seventh and last New Year's resolution I have made for myself.

I have made a long list of New Year's resolutions. But I’ll try my best to stick to them and complete them.

Thank you for sticking with me this far. I would love to read your New Year's resolutions. Please leave them in the comments.
Happy Christmas and New Year in advance.

Cover Image Credits : Image by storyset on Freepik

Top comments (0)