DEV Community

aquila
aquila

Posted on

JConsole connects to Guest OS

What I want to do: Using JConsole, monitor java application which running on guest OS.
Alt Text

First attempt
I couldn't connect to guest os, so I learnt how to configure the network between Guest OS and Host OS
Alt text of image

Guest OS configuration
I'm using Vagrant to manage VMs(Virtual box) on my windows. Basically what I need to do is to configure Host-only adapter. Default adapter is NAT. This is mandatory. So we cannot change it to Host-only, instead, we need to add another adapter which is Host-only.

This can be achieved by adding 1 line in Vagrantfile.
config.vm.network "private_network", type: "dhcp"
or
config.vm.network "private_network", ip: "192.168.33.10"

Then you can see that a new adapter is added by "ip a". You can try pinging to the ip. In below example, it is 172.28.128.3.
Alt Text

Java option
To be visible from Jconsile, you need 2 options.
-Dcom.sun.management.jmxremote.port=PORT
-Djava.rmi.server.hostname=IPADDRESS

Connect as remote
You can connect to IPADDRESS:PORT in jconsole start screen.

Top comments (0)