DEV Community

Asher Carneiro
Asher Carneiro

Posted on

My experience with web dev

So I was scrolling through youtube, just procrastinating ✨ and then i came across a video named "why web dev is getting hard to learn" so as a naive developer i clicked it and i would like to share my exp with web dev.

When I started with web dev as a beginner, i learned the basics: html css js then i tried learning some other topics in css like flexbox and tried understanding media queries and i understood them well on paper but when i tried implementing them it wouldnt work, just something small either a weird effect in css or some mis-alignment... i kinda got tired and moved on to app and backend dev.

I currently gained new interest in web dev and react and the whole thing... speaking personally react learning curve is killing me, like i have made notes and stuff but when i sit down try to make a project well boom! im blank.. and nowdays there are hundred.. there are thousands of ways to do 1 thing in 'em frameworks... there's react, nextjs, remix, astro and they have ui libraries, linters, packages and the whole shaboom. it all gets cluttered and a beginner doesn't know if/what they should learn, well its just that modern web dev is all jumbled up.

The Thing that I hate&love is CSS and so does everybody, like i could literally make a yellow minion riding a plane towards big building's but also why is there random margin on right of my img and why doesnt this media query work.

I still want to improve my web dev skills, so imma start with nextjs 13 learn along from there, making small projects slowly getting better.

Top comments (0)