DEV Community

Aubrey Portwood
Aubrey Portwood

Posted on

💻

So I took down my external monitor.

My Desk Before

About three months ago I hooked up my 27" monitor, a bluetooth keyboard, some book-shelf speakers and was pretty happy... until I wasn't... today.

The monitor is showing some signs of ghosting, and everyone once in a while it flickers. I really didn't want the Apple Magic Keyboard (external) because of the janky arrow keys, so I bought what I thought was the best BT keyboard I could find. It takes 2.5 seconds to re-connect, it often "fights" with whatever signal my Magic Mouse was using, jets out some random characters, and finally connects. It doesn't have touch-id so I have been manually typing my super-hard password everyday! I mis-type it about half the time. I had to use the bookshelf speakers remote control to switch it to Bluetooth before my computer would connect to it, so I also bought a dock and wired it, but I still had to turn them on....

I think you get the point. It just never works out for me when I try to do this... An external monitor is nice, but the setup always comes with some price I have to pay.

My MacBook Air has a screen and a keyboard ATTACHED to it, and it works...all the time!

So, I took all that shit down and am just back on my 💻

My Desk Now

...again.

It always feels weird going from this big-ass screen to this tiny 13" one. My desk always feels a bit empty and barren too...it's always nice to have your desk full of big tech 💪🏻! But, it just isn't meant to be.

I missed ⌨️👈🏻 Touch ID so much.

Top comments (0)