DEV Community

Gerald Nash ⚡️
Gerald Nash ⚡️

Posted on

So I Graduated High School, Now What?

grad

It’s done…finished…over. I’ve finally finished an unforgettable 4 years of my life. 4 years full of smiles, stress, sweat, and software. Throughout all of this I’ve made a few small achievements: I made the varsity soccer team in my freshman year, managed to keep straight A’s while playing three sports in one year, made my first 100-star project on Github, started a tech blog, and many more.

I graduated high school, now what?

Howard University

Well, I’m continuing my education. After thoughtful consideration, I’ve decided to attend Howard University in Washington, DC. At Howard, I’ll be majoring in Computer Science and minoring in a study that is to be determined. I’m beyond excited to join the Bison family!

What does all this mean for me as a software developer?

Well, I got access to the Github Student Pack, so that’s kind of cool 😉. Lol but now that I’m a university student, I have access to a lot of opportunities that were previously not available to me: I can attend as many hackathons as my heart desires, apply for internships, and actually study computing in school. I’m extremely excited for what’s to come.

So, what am I doing now?

Cinchapi

I’ve been blessed with the opportunity to work with Jeff Nelson and the Cinchapi team as a Software Engineer Intern this summer before I start college. I’m incredibly happy to be working here and I thank everyone who’s helped me become a better developer leading up to this opportunity!

Now that I’m finished with high school, I can’t wait to see all that is to come! I can’t thank everyone enough, and I thank you for reading this piece.

Connect with me on social media:

Twitter, Github, Snapchat, Medium, Instagram

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

You're gonna kick ass!

Collapse
 
aunyks profile image
Gerald Nash ⚡️

Thanks Ben!

Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

Congrats dude! You write awesome stuff! Excited to see and hear more from you 🙌