DEV Community

Cover image for About me
Aya Ishimura
Aya Ishimura

Posted on • Updated on

About me

Hello, I'm Aya. Let me share with you my journey to becoming a passionate web developer.

Discovering My Drive

I've always been someone who sought genuine passion in what I do. For a long time, I drifted without a true calling, feeling moments of anxiety about the direction of my life. But when I stumbled upon programming, it felt like I'd finally found my place. It was a moment of realization – "This is it."

My First Brush with Coding

While working as an office assistant in Japan, I was introduced to VBA for automating Excel tasks. The joy of streamlining processes and making tasks more efficient was palpable. What started as personal projects to automate my tasks ended up getting recognized at the highest levels, leading to a promotion and even an award for our department.

Diving Deeper into Web Development

Despite my accomplishments with VBA, I knew there was more to explore. My love for logic-driven tasks, reminiscent of my fondness for mathematics, made programming a natural fit. As technology advanced, I was drawn to web development, envisioning the thrill of crafting my own websites and desiring to attain business-level English proficiency to expand my horizons.

Embracing Change: Moving to Canada

Originally planning to study in Australia, the COVID-19 pandemic shifted my trajectory to Canada, where the co-op system offered the enticing blend of study and real-world internships. Recognizing the importance of experience in the IT sector, I saw this as an invaluable opportunity.

Building My Foundation

Navigating the world of web development as a newcomer isn't without its challenges. While job postings often seek prior experience, I took the initiative. By offering to build a website for my friends' business, I am converting theoretical knowledge into practical skills, laying the groundwork for my career.

My Vision for the Future

My goal is clear: to be a self-sufficient web developer, crafting complete websites from scratch. With just a laptop, internet, and a burst of creativity, I envision myself working from anywhere in the world. It might be a challenging journey, but with my passion and dedication, I am confident in my path.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
zoppatorsk profile image
Zoppatorsk

Doing something u like and having to "use the brain" when working is something that is really important to some ppl, u seem to be one of them.

For sure working at some conveyor belt doing the same mindless repetitive task can feel liberating sometimes but that feeling usually only last like a day and after it will just be like the brain gets mushy.

I agree, there is so many different languages and frameworks and stuff being used now and it's constantly shifting, changing and evolving.
I think the important things are to focus on the basics in the beginning. For creating website then basics with HTML, CSS and Javascript. Once have a decent understanding of those can branch out and try frameworks, backend stuff and soo on but yeah, no need to go try too many things and get stuck in tutorial hell, better to keep focus on one thing and try to build something with it.

Well.. well, that was just me rambling some thoughts... maybe it made sense, maybe not ;)

I wish u luck on your journey.