DEV Community

Bassem
Bassem

Posted on

Let's review each other's personal websites.

Hey, devs from all over the world. 😊

I have been working a lot lately on my personal website. It is in no way done but I am really liking what I have done so far. 😎

I wanna get comments and feedback from you guys and possibly do the same for you. πŸ§πŸ™Œ

Come on now! πŸ‘
Post your personal websites in the comments below! πŸ”₯

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
stephenkoller profile image
Stephen Koller

Hey Bassem! Thanks for posting - I've been meaning to set up my own personal site, and your post is a good reminder. :)

Here are my thoughts on your site:

Content:
Overall, it's a good introduction to who you are and what your experience is.

I personally think "Welcome to Bassem Mohamed’s personal space" sounds a bit out of date - I would consider removing that in favor of a casual "Hey there!" or something similar.

The second sentence in the paragraph is a bit of a 'run-on'; in other words, it uses many commas to connect multiple, sometimes disconnected ideas. Breaking it up into multiple sentences would help with the flow of information.

The link to seal-software's website could be good to include in your second paragraph, instead of just the company name.

Visually:
The spacing in the main text block on the homepage seems a bit 'tight' to me, consider spacing out the lines a bit.

The "hamburger" sidebar menu could use some polish:

  • I see a scroll bar when it slides open, which is distracting.
  • After clicking a link in the sidebar, the sidebar remains open, getting in the way of the content.

Looking good!

I'll have to set up my own site and get back to you. :)

Collapse
 
bassemibrahim profile image
Bassem

Hey Stephen! I cannot thank you enough for your comment! It's like having your own QA πŸ˜€

Seriously though, All your comments make 100% sense to me. I have no idea how I haven't seen them. 😲I will definitely be working on them in the near future.

I will for sure be waiting for your site!! Now that's gotta be on your 2020 bucket list. πŸ”₯