DEV Community

Cover image for Snakes in the Grass
Clifton Beale
Clifton Beale

Posted on

Snakes in the Grass

Staying safe throughout your job hunt

Recently, I have embarked on a full time job hunt, in search of an opportunity as a web developer. Even though times are tough right now, there are still good jobs out there worth applying to. While I have been applying to a number of different jobs, I have recently come across what I believe to be a scammer.

With technology where it is today, and especially after the pandemic with remote jobs rising, phishing for someone to scam through job boards has become prevalent (accord to The Federal Trade Commission's Consumer Advice).

Real World Example

I received an email recently from someone, who's name I will reveal (fake or not). The email, while it did not sound 100% legit, piqued my interest as I am intently looking for a job. I emailed back, and received a questionnaire to fill out in return.

This questionnaire ran for about 20 questions long, and asked questions from entry level software engineer questions to personal questions about my life and experiences. I believed that this was a legit pre screening document, and that I would fill it out and turn it in to them.

After doing some digging, I saw that the address provided by the recruiter for the business was not even owned by that business. It was a random building owned by another business in the middle of Texas. Furthermore, the company had little to no digital footprint, and from there things started to look very shady. I looked up the recruiter on LinkedIn, and my search result revealed a fake persona.

I am anxious to see what they say next, as I did respond with answering the questionnaire (most of the info could have been found on my LinkedIn) but I assume they will ask for more sensitive information down the road.

With the world of technology as it is today, don't fall victim to those that want to prey on you. Protect yourself, and don't ignore the signs. Stay vigilant, and on the hunt. Good luck on your search for a job!

Top comments (0)