DEV Community

Cover image for I'm Joining Rainway 🚀
Ben Greenier
Ben Greenier

Posted on • Updated on

I'm Joining Rainway 🚀

Hello, I'm Ben Greenier. You might know me from my WebRTC work at Microsoft, where I helped create and improve things like Mixer, browserd, webrtc-unity-plugin, early versions of winrtc, and MixedReality-WebRTC. I also had a chance to work on closed-source software directly with external engineering teams to solve all kinds of problems, though I primarily focused on those in the real-time media space. I chose to leave Microsoft in June 2021 to decompress after a challenging stint working on Microsoft Teams. I wanted to build some tech to help make creating games more approachable, and take some time to figure out what I wanted to do next. I also had the extreme privilege to be able to actually do that, so I did.

In parallel, I'd been following the work Rainway was doing on their journey to create an ultra-low latency streaming solution. I first heard about them through Twitter and their work with Xbox Cloud Gaming - which is pretty impressive. It was actually through Twitter, that I found myself sitting down for a slice of pizza with Rainway's CEO, Andrew Sampson to learn more about what they're building these days. Suffice it to say I was pretty impressed. 😁

You can learn more about Rainway's ongoing work on the Rainway blog - I'm especially excited about the opportunity to work with a bunch of great folks, use Rust, explore the in's and out's of Bebop, and of course to help make creating ultra-low latency applications much easier for folks.

I'll be starting in a few weeks, and hope to be able to share more with you about the work we'll be doing together going forward! 🚀

💙🌈
-Ben

Top comments (0)