DEV Community

Benjamin Price
Benjamin Price

Posted on • Originally published at benprice.dev on

Introducing the DEV Social Badge

Today, I started working on a new social badge that pulls your reaction count for an article that’s been shared on DEV. I hope others like it and will find it useful.

Before I get into everything, here’s what it looks like (you can see it in action on my (new) blog):




dev badge sample

The code still needs a bit more work before I’m ready to opensource it. But, I will be putting it up on GitHub, with directions on how to use it, in the next few days.

The code is all written in pure JavaScript, to keep things nice and lightweight, and all of the badge is drawn with SVGs, including the Logo which Ben made available in this gist.

Anyways, stay tuned for further updates over the next couple of days!


This post originally appeared on benprice.dev.

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
astrit profile image
Astrit

If I am being honest, I don't like the design very much.

I would make it exactly like the logo is, perhaps with only 1- 2px radius and also make colors optional so we could change to fit the design of the blogs better.

Just saying.

Collapse
 
benjaminjprice profile image
Benjamin Price

Appears to be broken on Safari Mobile (works on Chrome Mobile).

Collapse
 
benjaminjprice profile image
Benjamin Price • Edited

Ok, so it’s weirdly cached on Safari for me. In Private mode it works.

If someone else can confirm if it works for them in Safari mobile I would appreciate it.

Edit: got the cache cleared and it works now.

Collapse
 
benjaminjprice profile image
Benjamin Price

Please take note that there's a 24-hour cache for the DEV API. So, the count doesn't update frequently.

Collapse
 
nickhiebertdev profile image
Nick Hiebert

This is awesome Ben! I can see the huge value to everyone on the Dev Community. A great addition for everyone’s personal, and business websites.

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

This looks really cool! I want to put it on my site.