DEV Community

Robert Dopp
Robert Dopp

Posted on

How to get Raspberry Pi Pico W to send text message?

I have been using Raspberry Pi Pico’s for years, programming in MicroPython using the Thonny compiler. I use them to run all sorts of control and timing devices in my laboratory (doppstein.com). Some control temperature using Peltier devices.

Now I have a Pico W. I want my Raspberry Pi Pico W to send me a text message if the temperature runs over or under some envelope. Programming the chip is easy to join our network (using one to time a clock). But sending the text is proving to be problematic.

I have a TFN from Twilio and their SID and Auth Token. The code runs fine, but at the end sends a “401” error. I know my authorization is correct because I cut-n-pasted it to prevent typos.

Has anyone out there gotten a “W” to send a text to a phone? I sure would like some advice. I would be happy to share my code so far if you want.

Thanks,
Bob

Top comments (0)