DEV Community

Tithi
Tithi

Posted on

Storytime-Push protocol

I had the opportunity to attend the Web3Conf 2023 edition. Here, I document the take-aways from the largest Web3 based conference of India.

Getting to know about Push Protocol

When I arrived at the conference, to be very honest, I had zero idea of what Push Protocol was. I had the opportunity to meet some new folks from there, who, were actually from the same cultural & geographical background as me. Excited by the presence of these folks, we started chatting, & was very intrigued by their experiences in tech. Eventually, the topic of discussion changed to swags(I mean, who doesnt love swags anyway) & one of the guys just flexed a pink hoodie with a pink shirt. Normally, swag tshirts are blue/black/grey, but I had never seen a pink tshirt/hoodie before. The design was really cool, & appealed to me(primarily because I myself design stuff on my own), & I could not help but to talk about it. It was then, it dawned to me that there was something called the Push Protocol.

So, what is Push Protocol?

In very simple words, Push Protocol is a web3 communication network, enabling cross-chain notifications and messaging for dapps, wallets, and services.

Push powers communication for over 100 of the world’s leading dapps and service providers across DeFi, NFTs, gaming, dev tools, and more.

Until Push, no solution existed to enable native communication between wallets in response to on- and off-chain data. The result was a fractured dapp ecosystem, held together by antiquated and centralized communication platforms.

Push is building the communication network for Web3, addressing a gap in critical infrastructure and improving the everyday experience for blockchain users.

In a nutshell, if dapps & service providers can be considered as the wizarding world in Harry Potter, push protocol can be described as the owls who carry the letters, aka the messages over the owl network.(Am a potterhead btw)

What can the users do with Push Protocol?

Well, there are some options for this, pointed below.

Push Notifications directly connect applications to individual users, enabling secure and personalized communication in response to customized on- and off-chain activity.

Push Chat is the leading decentralized, web3 native chat application with user friendly features like 1-1, group chat, videos/images, and (soon) streaming.

Push DAO is the home of community ownership of the Push Protocol. Push token holders can view, propose, and vote on critical developments to the protocol.

More use cases can be found at the official documentation.

Fun Fact- Push Protocol was previously EPNS.

Hmm, what next?

Well, once I got the details of the organization, got in touch with an ambassador(one of the folks I met in Web3Conf) & tried to see what was actually in the store if I chose to get my hands dirty in this. A few months later, got the opportunity to apply to be a Push Ambassador, as I myself being an Electronics & communication engineering student, I value the communications between entities. One wrong move can hamper the entire entity/entities, & the opportunity to get involved with something which is in parallel with my degree is something I am looking forward too.

Web3 is a risky field with prevalent scams, so the necesity of knowledge & robust systems are the need of the hour.

Bonus

If you deal with cybersecurity, here is a thing I think, you will enjoy.

https://medium.com/push-protocol/push-protocols-bug-bounty-program-goes-live-d286bf2a7beb

Top comments (0)