DEV Community

Bryce Seefieldt
Bryce Seefieldt

Posted on

Hacktoberfest Progress

As Hactoberfest comes to a close, I have a few irons in the fire which I'm hoping to bring some closure to. The issue in progress that is most likely to be wrapped up neatly is a code contribution to regex-pro. It is a simple Javascript site that offers some tools and templates for processing regular expressions.

Issue-6 was my initial attempt to contribute to the project. It asked to provide support for the entry and extraction of phone numbers via regex. While not a massive undertaking, it did require some back and forth to make sure the regex I was providing met the expectations of the project.

Extracting phone numbers via regex proved to be an interesting task as there can be a variety of formats received as input and the regex needs to do some work in determining the input formating and imposing some constraints on the output options. In this case I initially wasn't clear on which of the various options was prefered for the project.

Initially I provided the following solution:
Image description
With some feedback from the owner I realized I needed to use the + symbol as a qualifier to whether the input should be looking for 12-13 subsequent digits (international number) as opposed to 10 digits (local).

I implemented these changes to make that qualification:
Image description

This proved a good opportunity to make add some code and submit a draft Pull Request to get some feedback. I was able to get some feedback from the owners and in turn update my changes and push them to the same PR for review. This was a first and was helpful to see my options in terms of pushing either new commits or amending the exisiting commit with updates.

Those updates to PR32 are now in review and I hope to see some further feedback or a merge shortly.

This project seems to be in a fairly early stage but looks to be an actively growing project with some additional issues that appeal to me. I have requested to contribute to some additional issues that provides a bit more challenge in terms of the contribution.

Top comments (0)