DEV Community

Bryce Seefieldt
Bryce Seefieldt

Posted on

NeoGPT contributions continued...

I have made good progress in my contribution pans for the NeoGPT project as discussed in my previous post “Escalating NeoGPT contribution”. I was able to work through my first goal of adding command line switches for the export functionality in my most recent Pull Request which was successfully merged into the main branch of the project.

This PR also included some enhancements to the original export_config() function which I created, that provides some level of sanitization of the optional filename parameters which the user can provide along with the --export argument. Essentially, if a string ( representing the config filename) is provided by the user (overriding the default config filename to be written) then the export function forces a .yaml file format. In addition, it enforces some checks to provide a new filename if the provided filename is attempting to overwrite an existing config file of the same name. These changes were all wrapped into the now merged PR.

In reviewing my export configuration process, the project author was able to extrapolate much of the functionality and transpose it to the load configuration process, which was my planned next step. As they have provided the initial framework for the load_config() function I set out to create, I am now going through it to add some similar validation enhancements to those discussed above, as well as to test the functionality and provide any necessary debugging.

As much of the intended scope initially laid out is near completion, I have discussed with the project author, implementing some unit test suites for the functionality I have introduced, to be included in the ongoing contribution QA process, and for future inclusion in the introduction of some CI/CD workflows into the project. I will continue to update on the process as I introduce unit tests into my previous work.

Top comments (0)