DEV Community

Casey Echternacht
Casey Echternacht

Posted on

Day 2

This is the first time I've worked on html in a couple months; noticed myself googling or referencing my previous work for just about every line of code that I type. It would save me so much time if I had even a fraction of this memorized. New routine: flash-cards.

Also:

I'm following a step-by-step tutorial for building a portfolio site. I know that this is a far-cry from building anything from a blank slate, but it's helping me get in some much-needed repetitions.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
zoppatorsk profile image
Zoppatorsk

I think that is normal... I do the same, keep reference old stuff n google stuff when have not been at it for some time.

If just working at stuff for a couple of days will usually get into a much better flow.
Many times when looking back at old projects and code I get confused and just wonder: what is this code doing, it makes no sense, why did I do it like this...

Collapse
 
caseyeee profile image
Casey Echternacht

I'm so isolated; it's easy to think that I'm the only one experiencing this. Thank you for letting me know I'm not alone on this. Your comment is giving me strength :)