DEV Community

Casey Echternacht
Casey Echternacht

Posted on

Escape from Bad Math

Several years ago I started a freecodecamp account. I looked at the all of their offerings and computed "if I take 'x' amount of time to finish each section I can master their whole suite in 2 years."

Along the way I got stuck on one thing or another, fell way behind my projected arc, got discouraged and quit. I have repeated this cycle a few times since 2016; I would be so much further if I had just made slow and steady progress.

Right now I am giving it another attempt with a Java course by Mosh. I have rough goals for completion, but I won't beat myself up for missing deadlines.

There was a 2 minute video on escape characters. This topic has always seemed like "eating my veggies" level of drudgery. In the past I watched this on 2x speed and only halfway understood it before moving on and patting myself on the back for making quick progress.

This time is different

This time around, I watched the video twice on regular speed AND made a flash card AND consulted further resources from Google.com (if you haven't been to this site I highly recommend it).

This time... I learned something :)

Top comments (0)