DEV Community

Cover image for Oh no, not stackOverflow?!
Casey Echternacht
Casey Echternacht

Posted on

Oh no, not stackOverflow?!

Photo by Andre Hunter on Unsplash

Today I hit an obstacle and asked my first question on stackoverflow. Before posting, I tried everything I could think of. Then, I spent a half hour on google. Then, I composed a question for the site and read through its 10+ suggested links that might be related to my problem.

As a last resort, I hit "submit" for my question. Within minutes two different people posted suggestions. Their advice didn't work, but DID lead me to solving my own problem.

I updated my question to inform future struggling coders of why my problem occurred and how to fix it.

My question has received 3 downvotes. It's going to get buried, and the next person who has my problem will have to repeat this whole cycle.

I tried to be a good citizen today; this is kind of demoralizing. I hope someone makes a site like this, but for people who don't already know everything.

Top comments (0)