DEV Community

Rohan Kumar Bhoi
Rohan Kumar Bhoi

Posted on

2. Experiences with rejections and breakups.

When Rejection is not an Actual Rejection!
Rejections can leave a lasting impact on our hearts, especially when they occur during the tumultuous years of adolescence. My journey into the realm of love began with my first experience of heartache in the 8th grade. At the age of 15, I was navigating a world of newfound emotions, fuelled by the changes in hormones coursing through my body.

My affection for a girl was intense, but it was not the kind of love that matured into a meaningful connection. Instead, it was an infatuation, a crush that I held close to my heart for two years. I kept my feelings a secret, choosing to silently admire her from a distance. I never mustered the courage to express what I felt. In many ways, this was my first brush with rejection, even though she had never explicitly turned me down.
The truth is, I had been a victim of my own fear. The fear of hearing a definitive "no" paralyzed me. Instead, I chose the path of silence. However, my silence had unintended consequences. It left room for someone else to enter her life, someone who had the courage to declare their feelings. She accepted their proposal, leaving me to grapple with the weight of regret.

I learned a profound lesson from this experience - the importance of expressing one's feelings. Love is a two-way street, and there are only two possible outcomes: acceptance or rejection. The regret of not speaking up can be far more agonizing than the pain of hearing "no." It's a lesson I've carried with me throughout my journey, a lesson that became the foundation of my understanding of love.

My first experience with rejection served as a painful reminder that silence can be just as detrimental as rejection itself. It was a lesson that would stay with me as I encountered more rejections and breakups in my journey through the complex landscape of love.

Top comments (0)