DEV Community

Ashish Chawla
Ashish Chawla

Posted on

Life in a growing startup!

It's been almost 2 years now, I've been working with a start-up that has created an amazing SaaS product for any teaching institutes to bring them out of the traditional pen paper approach to a sophisticated yet simplified online platform for student management. ReportCard | going through this will let you know what I'm talking about,

Coming back to the topic now, this journey has been a rollercoaster ride for me in all senses possible, there have been super chilled days as well as there have been rigorous nights, but it's always been challenging and fun.. Now to young developers out there, I've got some nooks & crooks to say for paying your way into this life...

Firstly, life in startup isn't easy at all, everyday I reach up to my office and there's something new waiting for me.. maybe a new / uncovered use-case, new client onboarding, certain tweaks and turns based on client-requests. You got to be in one to know one.
Secondly, the scope of development is immense.. you never know what all are the things you'll learn while you are in this journey of uncertainty, the biggest of the uncertainties being, what will be client favourable. Now I can tell this from experience I've had that there would never be an ideal client, you'll be sure about them using a certain feature, and will end up developing it, to find that it's not being used by many... But that's the learning road you'll have to undertake in order to reach at a good place.

Next, I'm sure many of your startup enthusiasts will understand is that, you've to be prepared all the time... Be on holiday, be at home, be it middle of the night, you've to be prepared and be ready for support coming in. There's no option here, especially if you are in growing startup with a small team, it's imperative that you stay on feet all the time. But trust me, it's a different level of fun, solving the problems and turning it around asap!

Finally, since there's a lot about this journey that I can't share over 1 post, I would like to mention, the team you work with is the most crucial part of it... There's nothing better than having a great team coordination and understanding to make things like a great startup happen.

(P.S. this is my first post after long long time.. your criticism is highly appreciated)

Top comments (0)