DEV Community

Christopher Liudahl-Rackley
Christopher Liudahl-Rackley

Posted on

Getting DEEP into something

With experience comes stories of some various sizes of code bases. I would only imagine that there is probably a linear relation to the size of the company with the number of lines in their source code, maybe I am wrong? I actually don't know.

Those who have been fortunate to work at a company the size of Alphabet or Meta or Microsoft, it would be my imagination that the code base are so big that there is not a single person has the capability to get access to everything. My question would be what are the tips to be able to navigate a gigantic code base as quick as possible?
My imagination would be that skills in scripting or some kind of automation, but some of that could also be some kind of click-bate kind of stuff. I could see some advantages to knowing more than the average programmer, in a certain area of programming that are worth the respects to the salary. What kind of other skills can you think of, that would be better?

So as I continue my coding journey thinking of projects to work on, maybe one that I could try to look up an open source companies code base and just start clicking folders to see how deep of the code base that I can get to, before I start losing my mind. That, or just continue grinding leetcode.

Top comments (0)