DEV Community

Christopher Liudahl-Rackley
Christopher Liudahl-Rackley

Posted on

Triop system maneuver

Over the last couple days I have been trying to highlight my GitHub profile by adding some of the projects that I was working on, in the process of that I found myself in a dilemma… how do I get the stuff off my Linux machine onto my Mac machine and the stuff from my windows machine onto my Linux machine?
Quite a dilemma that I seemed to have fallen in, which I don’t know how popular of a choice it really is, but I’m in it.

In the past I have just been on the Mac/Windows front, and use a Remote Desktop app to Jump from one to the other. Then I introduced my Microsoft Surface Pro 5 running Ubuntu 22.04 into the mix, the Remote Desktop apps on Linux in the past, I have not found to play very well with each other…
So I am experienced enough in the terminal that I could follow instructions how to set up ssh. Ultimately I am only looking to access my terminal on these machines, it would be nice if I could use my Ubuntu tablet that I can bring anywhere, but then be able to use the terminal to run apps on the heavier machines… I don’t know if ssh is the answer or if rdp is the better option…

I guess the only problem that I am coming up with is do I need visual or can I stay in the terminal, which is where I would like to be.
The way I see it working would be opening my Linux terminal, to ssh into my windows pc, do some kind of file transfer over to the Linux machine via the terminal, then in another tmux session ssh into the Mac that I can compile and test some ARM assembly, as well as some Xcode terminal stuff for objective-c and swift.
So it would be cool to know if this is possible to do in terminal or if I should be looking in another direction???

Top comments (0)