DEV Community

Cover image for Why Software Engineering?
Cicada0315
Cicada0315

Posted on • Updated on

Why Software Engineering?

System.out.println("Hello")
puts "My name is Jean."
print "Nice to see you"

I learned Java last few years and I am learning Ruby and Python nowadays. Every language seems similar but different. It's interesting to learn how each language works. I enjoy the ability to create an actual working, moving program from lines of code. It’s really fascinating that everything associated with programs on computers work through lines of code.

Coding is sometimes challenging. It's like a puzzle. Sometime, I stuck whole day to try to figure out how to make it work and try to make it more efficient. I really enjoy the journey of trying to figure out how to make a program work. I'm over the moon when the program that I worked on whole day finally working! I bet all the programmers feel the same:)

"Welcome every problem as an opportunity. Each moment is the great challenge, the best thing that ever happened to you. The more difficult the problem, the greater the challenge in working it out." - Grace Speare, Author

As the technology industry growing, computers have become a major part of our lives today. Privacy and security are becoming major concerns as well. In the future, I want to contribute to making a safe networking environment for people when they use their computers.

P.S. this is my first blog. I hope you have more understanding about me.

Top comments (0)