DEV Community

Cover image for How content creation helped me land my first tech job?
Amrin
Amrin

Posted on • Originally published at coderamrin.com

How content creation helped me land my first tech job?

Getting the first job is the hardest. It is also frustrating when you apply for countless jobs but don't hear back.

Even if you get a call back you have to face countless meetings and assessments.

But, it doesn’t have to be that way.

Nowadays, you can build your presence on social media. It shows what you are capable of doing.

That way instead of you applying for the job, the job will find you!

In this article, I will share my story of how I managed to land my first job by creating content.

So, let’s get started.

The Beginning

In the beginning, I started with the traditional approach. Applying to hundreds of jobs and never getting a callback.

Even If I got a few callbacks, I would get an assessment, and after I submitted they would never call (Skill issues 🤣🤣)

So, I was going nowhere. Then I decided not to apply and do the assessment for free. I started to create videos on YouTube and write articles (I had free time I could do all).

Then I would share my videos and articles on Twitter.

While doing all these I was taking freelance projects here and there.

The Big day

As I focused on creating and sharing content, something unexpected happened. I received a call from a potential employer, who found my work online.

Initially, I thought it was a friend, but it turned out to be a job opportunity.

They asked me to create a video for their product.

After creating a video for their product, they offered me a position as a Support Engineer. I started part-time, handling client queries and updating documentation.

Two months later, I transitioned to a front-end developer role in the same company.

Creating Content

Now, you might be wondering what type of content to create. It doesn't have to be complicated.

If you love being in front of a camera you can create videos, if you don’t like that you can start a blog.

If blogging sounds too much effort start by tweeting.

Once you choose the platform your question might be what should I write/create videos about?

Here are a few ideas to get you started:

  1. Build projects and write about them.
  2. Write about the problem you solved.
  3. Share what you learn every day.
  4. Write about a book you read.
  5. Share your take on a new tech.

The ideas are endless. You just have to start.

Once you start creating content you will get endless ideas.

Don’t forget to share your content on Twitter or any other social media you are active on.

Conclusion

If you are applying for jobs and going nowhere, then try this approach.

Improve your skills and create content. Your content doesn’t have to be perfect. You have to start. Day by day you will get good at it.

Start today and share your content in the comment section, even if it’s just a tweet or a simple article.

Connect With Me

Twitter/x
Github
LinkedIn

Happy Coding.

Top comments (9)

Collapse
 
cbid2 profile image
Christine Belzie

Congratulations on the job @coderamrin! :) Building in public truly does open doors for people, especially in tech.

Start today and share your content in the comment section, even if it’s just a tweet or a simple article.

Ok. Here's my latest update on my buildspace journey

Collapse
 
coderamrin profile image
Amrin

Thanks Chrissy!
Read the tweet already!
Waiting for the finished article.

Collapse
 
phalkmin profile image
Paulo Henrique

Congrats on your first job!

This resonates a lot with something I wrote a few weeks ago: don't just tell that you know it on your resume, use the internet to show it. Write about what you are learning / love. Share your knowledge. People will start to notice you.

Wish that more and more people get to use the internet properly as you 😀

Collapse
 
coderamrin profile image
Amrin

Thanks, Paulo.
Yeah, people will get used to it as long as we tell our story. 😀

Collapse
 
jgdevelopments profile image
Julian Gaston

This is really cool. Crucial resource for anyone wanting to beef up their career. Great article!

Collapse
 
coderamrin profile image
Amrin

Thanks, Julian!

Collapse
 
hosseinyazdi profile image
Hossein Yazdi • Edited

Twitter is literally helpful for everything, let alone marketing. Congrats on the job Amrin! Keep going strong! 👏 💪

Collapse
 
coderamrin profile image
Amrin

Thanks, Hossein!

Collapse
 
sosocrypto profile image
sosocrypto

This is a wonderful piece! Thanks a lot