DEV Community

Cover image for My First Hacktoberfest Journey: A Remarkable Experience
Ralph Rosael
Ralph Rosael

Posted on • Updated on

My First Hacktoberfest Journey: A Remarkable Experience

I'm thrilled to share that I've embarked on my very first Hacktoberfest journey, and it's been an incredible ride so far. Joining the open-source community and making my humble contributions during Hacktoberfest 2023 has been a truly rewarding experience. You can check out my GitHub profile- https://github.com/coder-ralph.

A Journey of Recognition πŸŽ‰

One of the most heartwarming moments during Hacktoberfest was the recognition of my efforts. While the digital badges serve as a symbol of accomplishment, I was pleasantly surprised to receive a Hacktoberfest 2023 Reward Kit. This tangible token of appreciation made me feel even more connected to the global open-source community.

Hacktoberfest 2023 Reward Kit

Planting Trees for a Greener Future 🌳

Apart from the badges and the Reward Kit, I received a certificate from TreeNation. What's even more inspiring is that a tree will be planted in my name as a part of this initiative. Knowing that my contributions are not only benefiting the world of technology but also making a positive impact on the environment is an incredibly fulfilling feeling. It's a reminder that every small step we take can contribute to a greener, more sustainable future.

Tree Planting Certificate

Shoutout to My Collaborators and the Hacktoberfest Team πŸ™Œ

None of this would have been possible without the support and collaboration of amazing individuals within the open-source community. I want to give a massive shoutout to all my collaborators who guided me, reviewed my pull requests, and shared their knowledge. It's the collective effort of the community that makes Hacktoberfest such a remarkable event.

I'd also like to express my gratitude to the Hacktoberfest team for organizing this event. Their dedication and hard work in bringing open-source enthusiasts together is truly commendable. Hacktoberfest serves as a platform for developers of all levels to come together, learn, and make a meaningful impact.

Let's Keep the Momentum Going πŸš€πŸŒπŸŒ±

As my first Hacktoberfest journey draws to a close, I'm not only reflecting on the knowledge and skills I've gained but also the sense of fulfillment that comes from being part of a larger mission. Let's not limit our contributions to just one month; instead, let's keep coding, collaborating, and making a positive impact on the world.

Hacktoberfest has shown me the power of the open-source community, and I'm excited to continue my journey as a contributor, learn more, and inspire others to join this incredible world of coding and collaboration. Together, we can shape a better future, one pull request at a time. πŸš€πŸŒπŸŒ±

Thank you, Hacktoberfest 2023, for this remarkable experience. Until next year! πŸ™Œ

Check out my GitHub Contributions: 4 PRs Submitted!

  1. OSSPhilippines/freefolio:
    PR #113: Link
    PR #115: Link

  2. rudra016/WebDev-OpenSource:
    PR #210: Link

  3. Astha369/CPP_Problems:
    PR #12: Link

  4. coder-ralph/fcc-antique-dev-profiles:
    PR #1: Link

Connect me on LinkedIn, and GitHub!

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Heyo Ralph! Awesome work this Hacktoberfest 2023! πŸŽƒπŸ

Just to make sure you get the recognition you deserve here on DEV, please follow these quick steps:

  1. Update your post to include direct links to the 4 GitHub PRs you submitted to help us verify your contributions.
  2. Ensure the GitHub account attached to your DEV account is the one that you used for Hacktoberfest. It's crucial for validation. (You may have already done this)

This will let us easily double-check your contributions so we can give you all the right Hacktoberfest badges here on DEV!

Thanks again for your participation! (Refer to this post for full contributor completion instructions if need-be.)

Collapse
 
coderralph profile image
Ralph Rosael

Hello, Sir! Thank you for the kind words and the guidance. I've already added the direct links to the 4 GitHub pull requests I submitted during Hacktoberfest 2023. Also, I've ensured that the GitHub account linked to my DEV account is the one I used for Hacktoberfest. I appreciate your support, and I'm looking forward to those well-deserved Hacktoberfest badges on DEV! Thanks again for all the opportunities to contribute. πŸ€©πŸš€

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Perfect! Good stuff, Ralph. You rock!